Formed in 1919, The Buckskin Council of the Boy Scouts of America is charged with the responsibility to deliver the promise of Scouting in 19 counties in West Virginia, 3 counties in Virginia and 1 county in Kentucky. This stewardship includes program support and activities, adult leader training, youth recruitment, and fiscal sustainability.

In addition, the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America selected West Virginia as the new site for the Summit Bechtel Family Scout Reserve, the fourth BSA High Adventure Base nation-wide, and, as of 2013, the permanent site for the National Scout Jamboree in Fayette County, in the heart of the Buckskin Council.